Hodgepodge

I have not blogged in a few days. It was a very busy weekend. I went to a wedding out of town. The rehearsal dinner was on Friday evening, the wedding on Saturday and I “found” myself at the beach on Sunday and returned home early Monday morning. Work was at 8.30 a.m. I was late but managed to get myself through the day and back home without falling asleep at the wheel.

Bouquet Toss

So to recap the last few days since my last post. I survived my first week back at the office and had a mini meltdown at the wedding when it was time for the bouquet toss. I do not do the bouquet toss. So when someone said I should go and take part in the bouquet toss I kind of lost it a little (of course, I also do not like being told what to do but that might be everybody) and I sort of screamed that I did not want to do it. There are traditions and there are traditions. Just because something is tradition does not mean that it should continue to be done. And if I chose not to participate that is my prerogative.

Do not get me wrong. I have nothing against marriage and weddings. In fact it is quite the opposite, but I have my own opinions on certain things/traditions where they are concerned and the bouquet toss is one of them. Perhaps the problem is that I think too much and there are persons out there who have not had the thoughts that I have had about the whole thing so that’s that. People are entitled to their opinions or not to have any.

Rio+20

The title of this blog is hodgepodge so I will writing about a little bit of this and a little bit of that. Next year will be 20 years since the Rio Declaration. To mark this there will be a conference Rio+20 which will be held in Brazil. I wast thinking today how much our politicians and law makers know about sustainable development. Do they ever talk about it? Is it just a “buzz” word they throw around and say in speeches that are not even written by themselves? Are we holding our governments accountable when it comes to sustainable development? How has Jamaica fared since the Rio Declaration?

e.e. cummings desk

I read an article today about e.e. cummings desk. It included a picture and it got me thinking that every writer should have a deak. A nice desk where you write wonderful things. I do not have a desk. I do not have enough room in my tiny studio for a desk but as soon as I get a bigger place I am going to get a nice desk.

Barefoot chicken

I am including a link to a chicken recipe made with Barefoot White Zinfandel. I myself have not tried it as yet but it you do leave a comment and let me know how it tasted. I will blog about it as soon as I do.

 

Leave a Reply

