Acceptance

 I had wanted my next blog post to be about my trip to the National Gallery and the wonderful art that would have been on display. But alas, though the plans were in place to visit the Gallery, just in time, I remembered that Saturday, being a public holiday meant the Gallery would be closed. So there went my plan.  So now I have to blog about me and my thoughts which was not exactly the plan. So here goes.

 I have been thinking about the Serenity Prayer lately.

 God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change the things I can and wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time; enjoying one moment at a time; accepting hardship as the pathway to peace.

The first sentence of the prayer had been hanging on my living room wall at home (my parents’ home) for as long as I can remember living in the house. I often read the words but had never really contemplated them until now, thanks to adulthood. I started thinking about it a few weeks ago prompted by a friend who had the prayer as his Blackberry Messenger picture. Of course there must have been something going on with me at the time to make me latch on to it but I cannot remember what it is right now.

I am sure we all have an issue with acceptance. Some more chronic or acute (as the case may be), than others. I sure do. Of course whether we like it or not, life is forever a lesson in acceptance. There are the little things like accepting that people tend to make offhand remarks without thinking; which sucks when you have the tendency to hold people to a higher standard than they seem to hold themselves. There is the acceptance that perhaps at least 90% of the time it really is NOT ABOUT YOU and you can take the NOT ABOUT YOU anyway you would like. Of course there are bigger more disappointing things but of course acceptance is always the first step. You have to accept things in order to move on.

I have also been thinking about a quote that has been attributed to Abraham Lincoln which was put into song (Bob Marley, Get up stand up) because of a situation that is unfolding at work. The crap that our politicians spit out on a daily basis makes me think about it even more often:

 “You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.”

 Hmm…

 

One thought on “Acceptance

Leave a Reply

