Let’s go Pink! BCAM

I just finished writing my Girl Effect blog post. Gift-goal number one accomplished! I also had a boiled dumpling (in soup) on Saturday which was one of the high points of my day. If eating a boiled dumpling was the high point of my day then you should realize that my day really sucked. But sometimes that is what happens but I am definitely in a better place today.

I read something today and what stuck with me was the concept of you creating your work and that this was one of the ways we can cope with this recession that does not seem like it will end anytime soon. So that is what I am going to do, create my work. I am no  by means all starry-eyed and oblivious to the fact that it may take some time, but I am in it for the long haul. If only there were more hours in the day I could so much more, because I am so excited!

Did you check your boobs today? Or did you have someone check them for you? October is Breast Cancer Awareness month (BCAM) so even if you do not do your breast self checks any other time or you have been putting off that mammogram, now is the time to do it. This goes for men too because men do get breast cancer, believe it or not. If you notice anything out of the ordinary, go see the doc. It is better to be safe than sorry and cancer does not discriminate. You are NOT too young to get cancer of any sort.

This year, The Jamaica Cancer Society has once again teamed up with Yoplait and Wisynco for the annual Save Lids to Save Lives campaign to take the message of breast cancer awareness islandwide.  This year’s theme is ‘Taking Care of the Women in our Lives’, actively bringing men on board so they too can play a role and for every Yoplait pink yoghurt you purchase $8 will go to the Jamaica Cancer Society.

 

Leave a Reply

