It’s The Weekend! (and NaNoWriMo)

I had a fab start to the weekend. I went to the Heart Foundation’s fundraiser Simply Red Wine and Food festival with my sis last evening.

After battling some traffic  and the policeman who forced me to make a right turn I did not want to make I made it home to get ready for the evening out but not before something that my over analytic mind was forced to ponder. I bought bananas from one of the persons on the road who sells ripe bananas. I paid $100 for six bananas and a little further down the road, a homeless man asked me for money. I told him I had none and he asked me for a banana and I gave him one. So on a busy Friday afternoon while in traffic I spent $100 and supported our local farmers and our economy and I also made a tiny difference to someone. If I can do that restricted by being in my car in traffic then that just goes to show that the “out of traffic” possibilities are endless.  And on another not, the fact that we have bananas selling on the streets means we have not had a hurricane this year and the bananas didn’t get blown off the trees and that’s something to be grateful for (I hope nobody bursts my bubble by telling me the bananas are imported :().

Now back to the fab evening. Downside, everybody seemed to have pasta and as designated driver I did not have as much wine as I would have liked. Upside, no teeny boppers; satisfied the wine craving I had been having for a few days now and not much small talk required.

NaNoWriMo

What’s NaNoWriMo? It is National Novel Writing Month and it starts on 1 November. The goal is for each participant to write  a 50,000 word, (approximately 175 page) novel by 11:59:59, November 30.  In 2010, there were over 200,000 participants from all over the world and more than 30,000 of them crossed the 50K finish line by the midnight deadline.

I am not a novel writer, but since I basically was being a bum when it was poetry writing month, I am turning November into writing month, plain and simple. I am going to write something everyday, whether it is poetry of this blog, I am going to read as voraciously as my schedule will allow and I am going to attend as many literary events as I can.

One thought on “It’s The Weekend! (and NaNoWriMo)

Leave a Reply

