Lessons from cheesecake

Sometimes things seem like they are going to go all wrong and then everything ends up turning out beautifully. I decided to make a lemon cheesecake because there are no more passion fruit so I will have to wait until next season to make a passion fruit cheesecake. I found a recipe that seemed doable for someone who had never made cheesecake before. I bought the ingredients and I only had to make it now.

I got home yesterday afternoon feeling a bit intimidated by the whole thing but determined to try. First off, I tried using the blender to make graham cracker crumbs. First mistake, I put too many crackers in the blender so only the ones at the bottom became crumbs. So I came up with Plan b. Plan b was to empty the contents of the blender into a zip lock bag and pound it with a bottle of banana liqueur since I did not have a mallet or something else. So I had graham cracker crumbs. I mixed my crumbs with the melted butter and the sugar and proceeded to place my crust in the pan. I covered the bottom but when I started to do the sides it didn’t quite work out so I tried turning the pan on the side and then moving it around as I placed the crust mixture. That solved that problem.  I put the crust in the oven and then forgot that it was in there and it ended up staying a few minutes longer than it should have. Fortunately it had not gotten burnt.

Now to the cheesecake mixture. Every thing had been going well. I had all my ingredients measured out and ready to mix them all up. The recipe called for the temperature to be about 120 celsius to bake the cake. When I looked at the stove the lowest temperature was 140. I tried turning the knob below 140 but not to the off position and the flame went out after a while. I turned it back on. I mixed everything up and I poured it into the crust and was ready to put it in the oven. Then I realized the flame had gone out again. So I turned it back on and placed the knob a little closer to 140. Oh and before this I spilled water on the floor as I was placing the pan of water on the bottom rack in the oven.

So I am getting a bit worried here, then moral support shows up. He assures me that everything is going to work out fine and I try to believe him. After a few more occasions of the flame going out I decide to turn the temperature to 170 and watch it, not knowing what a cheesecake is supposed to look like when it’s done. So I consult “Dr. Google” and I find out that it should be puffy around the edges and jiggly about one inch from the centre. I also find out it is best not to open the oven while it bakes but I am going to have to open the oven to check on the “puffyness” and “jigglyness” . I  keep checking and at first nothing seemed to be happening but then there was puffyness but too much jiggle so I left it a little longer. Then I checked again and everything seemed to be ok so I turned off the oven, let it cool for an hour. Took it out, let it cool some more and then it was time for the refrigerator.

This morning it was judgment time, taste time. It tasted great. The crust was a little too buttery for my taste because I do not like the taste of butter but other than that, topped with some kiwi it was fabulous. Fears allayed! Next time I think I am going to make cheese pie from the recipe on the graham cracker box.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from cheesecake

  1. I’m glad the cheesecake came out well after all of that, i must admit im quick to throw in the towel and would have probably been close to tears. It’s good also to have support. I hope one day i will be able to taste the fruits of your labour once you have perfected your cheesecake technique … you may even have to teach me.

    1. I’m thinking that next time I am going to make an amaretto cheesecake. It will be crustless though. Making the crust is my least fave part of making the cheesecake. Not that its hard I just would prefer not to have to do it. I’ll drop off a piece if it comes out great. Not sure when I’ll be making it yet though. I’ll keep u posted.

Leave a Reply

