New Year’s Resolutions (Be who you are)

It is that time of year again. The end. I am not one to make resolutions and I have instead made to do lists. That has not exactly worked out well  for me. This year I am not going to make a to do list and I am not going to make resolutions. For 2012 my mantra will be “discipline”. I think if I just stick with that then the to do list will become obsolete. I will be disciplined and get out of bed early even when it is dark outside and cold, to write. I will exercise discipline and when I haul myself out of the bed I WILL write, even if it is nonsense. I will be disciplined enough to “seriously” read some poetry each day, etc.

On my reading list for 2012 is a book titled “MWF seeking BFF” it is a memoir about a year the author, Rachel Bertsche, spent, after moving to a new city, trying to find a new BFF. I will write a review once I have read it.

I have so far received one card from the Christmas Card swap. Thanks Amelia. The post is moving really slowly this year. I bought some stuff on ebay that I had wanted to give out on Christmas and they have not yet arrived.

I have not written a blog post in a while, not since before Christmas and I would just like to say (even though he probably will not read this) to Tarrus Riley, keep on doing what you are doing. You are a great entertainer and a wonderful human being. I am putting your concert in Emancipation Park on my calendar for next year. For those of you that missed Tarrus Riley and Friends on 22 December 2011, it was a wonderful show and it was free. Don’t get me wrong it was not about the freeness because Tarrus Riley is one of the few artistes I will actually pay to see perform any time. It is about the giving back to the people who support him. I ditched the dancing part of my office party to go and I am glad I did since you can’t go to a party it seems, and not hear a multiplicity of Kartel “songs”.  Makes you wonder if no one else is putting out music. I suppose it is all about catering to the masses. Perhaps I will get flack for having said that, but I do not think that many people read my blog and I am entitled to my own opinion and I have the right to voice it as well. In the words of Dr. Seuss ‘Be who you are and say what you feel because the people who mind don’t matter and the people who matter don’t mind.” I think that will be my second mantra for 2012.

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions (Be who you are)

Leave a Reply

