Book Review: “Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that can’t stop talking” by Susan Cain

I have been making references to this book for some time now. I finished reading it this past Monday and I would recommend that every introvert gets a copy and have a read. In addition, all bosses should read and keep a copy in their offices. If you have an introverted child, friend, spouse e.t.c. it will make a good read.

It is a not a put down to being extroverted. It gives history (being extroverted was not always as highly valued as it is today), it lists heroes (my word) like Rosa Parks, it spells out why introverts are valuable and in what spheres and situations, it includes science. In total, it is a well researched, well written book. I especially liked the chapter that dealt with dealing with introverted children. I am not yet a parent, but I hope to be and the usual response to the “quiet” child by parents and teachers is the prodding towards being more outspoken and outgoing. The chapter gave insight on how to “respond” (for want of a better word) in a a manner that works for the child inside off leading them into a direction that is not healthy in the long run.

Quiet equalled empowerment and validation for me. Next up “iWoz: Computer Geek to Cult Icon: How I Invented the Personal Computer, Co-Founded Apple and Had Fun Doing It”. But I swear if I keep not being able to buy the Kindle versions of the books I want to read because I am located in Jamaica, W. I. I am going to scream!

Leave a Reply

