You are worth more than many sparrows (Bye bye 2015…. Hello 2016!)

A few weeks ago I had said to myself that I did not want to have another 2015. 2015 summed up in one word was exhausting. At the end of it I just want to be in a cave hibernating but alas there are still things to be done. In fact, there is one thing on my to do list that is not going to get to get done, but there are some things you cannot rush.

If you are regular reader of this blog you will know that I do not make New Year’s resolutions, I make to do lists. My to do list for 2015 will have some things done, some things undone, some things unfinished and some things that I did make an effort to do but missed the mark, as things often come up unexpectedly that throw you for a loop. Nevertheless it was exhausting. I felt like I was constantly in motion without getting enough time to rest and while that has its upside (if you are busy enough you won’t have the time to be distracted with the things that will cause you sadness), it eventually takes its toll both physically and mentally. So today, the last day of the year, I am trying to make up for all the rest I didn’t get and at the same time trying not to be too bothered by the things I did not get to do and trying not to get to 2016 too much mentally before the clock strikes midnight.

I started making my 2016 to do list yesterday, albeit a bit late by my standards, and it is starting to look like 2015 all over again. My challenge now is to make this list work without suffering as I did in 2015. I have some ideas but as we all know it is not about the idea, it is about the execution. Will I be able to execute it to make my life just a little bit more doable and happier at the same time? Only time will tell.

For many people 2015 was a hard year or it had hard parts and I am sure many people wondered if it is going to be so painful or hard why should I bother and/or why should I be here? Maybe you will get the answer to that question and maybe you won’t. Perhaps you will get small pieces of the answer over time, just know if you are still here when the clock strikes 12.01 a.m. on January 1, 2016 you are meant to be here so carry on and just remember that “… you are worth more than many sparrows.” – Matthew 10:31

Leave a Reply

