Thanks for supporting me and the Tupelo Press 30/30 Project

This is day 10 of my challenge to write a poem a day for 30 days as part of the Tupelo Press 30/30 Project for July. I had wanted to write a blog post 7 days in but my stomach had other plans. If you have been diligently checking the 30/30 Project page you may have realized that I have been MIA for a few days. So to my fans 🙂 I just want you to know that I am now up to date up to yesterday but I am still working on my poem for today. I had to take a short leave of absence due to illness and you will see a snapshot of my travails in my poem titled Private Health Care which is my poem on Day 8. Also just to note that while I am tasked with writing a poem a day there is no stipulated time to send the poems in for posting so if I send it in a bit late then it may not get posted until the next day. Thanks to not being a morning person, work and other activities, that may just happen more often than not during the work week.

I think a big part of the process for me has been just letting go of a draft and sending it in even though I am not happy with it. I am being more open to the revision process and not just the revision that happens as you write but the revision that happens after you have let it simmer for a while and you may have a go at it again from another perspective. I have known for a long time that I do not like writing long poems and that I value economy over length and want to leave my readers breathless with just a few lines but I have committed to trying to write longer poems. If some of my poems may have seemed like they ended abruptly or that they did not end at the end, it was because they did not end and when next you see them they quite possibly will not look like the same poem.

I am grateful for being able to be a part of this project as it is instilling some of the discipline that I desperately needed where my writing is concerned. I am even more grateful to you my supporters for taking this journey with me, for reading the poems as I write, for making donations. Thank you, thank you, thank you. And if you have not donated yet, and you can, please visit this link to do so.

 

Leave a Reply

